Communities and municipalities are encouraged to consult among themselves and reach a consensus. Their proposal should be aligned to the criteria for ward delimitation and can be submitted by not later than 30 April 2020 to The ward submission form can be obtained on the MDB website

After the public consultation sessions, the MDB will consider all public proposals received and delimit wards. The wards will be published in provincial gazettes for objections by May 2020. Any aggrieved person will have 14 days to object.

The MDB will consider all objections, and publish its final decisions in provincial gazettes by July 2020. The MDB will then handover the final ward boundaries to the IEC in August 2020 to start preparing for the 2021 local elections.

We encourage citizens to seize this opportunity to express their views on how their wards should be configured.

Lookout for Schedules for the remaining Provinces: Gauteng, North West, Limpopo, Northern Cape and Free State on